MTS Home
MTS2012 Home
About MTS2012
Travel Grant
Contact Us


Report on Malaysian Thoracic Society Annual Congress 2012

The annual congress was held at the Pullman Hotel, Kuching, from 6th – 8th July 2012, and was co-organised with the Lung Foundation of Malaysia (LFM). A total of 366 delegates registered for the congress.  The Organising committee was headed by Dr. Hooi Lai Ngoh, and was assisted by a local organising committee headed by Dr. Tie Siew Teck from the Respiratory Medicine Unit, Sarawak General Hospital.  Associate Professor Dr. How Soon Hin and Dr. Mat Zuki Mat Jaeb co-chaired the adult scientific committee and Dr. Asiah Kassim chaired the paediatric scientific committee.

The congress comprised 3 plenary lectures and 12 symposia as well as clinical grand
rounds on adult and paediatric respiratory medicine.  In addition, there were 8 non-concurrent symposia sponsored by the pharmaceutical industry.  There was only one session for oral paper presentation.  A total of five free papers were presented orally and there were 46 poster presentations.  The prize money was sponsored by LFM to the total amount of RM6, 250/-. 

The pharmaceutical companies were again invited to become platinum, gold and silver partners.   There were 6 platinum and 2 silver sponsors.  A total of 26 drug and equipment companies participated.  As an incentive, Sarawak Convention Bureau had pledged to provide reimbursement for expenses incurred for international speakers, website and printing up to RM100, 000/-.

The Gala Dinner was held on Saturday evening and was graced by Dr. Chin Zin Hing, Deputy Director of Sarawak State Health Department (Medical) representing the Sarawak State Health Director.  Prizes were awarded to the winners of oral and poster presentations.  The MTS Research Grant was also awarded.  Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Arshad bin Ayub, Honorary member of MTS, made a contribution to the Society during the dinner.  The delegates enjoyed the evening entertainment provided by the Sarawak Cultural Village in the form of a dance and cultural performance.

Dr. Hooi Lai Ngoh
Organising Chairman
MTS Annual Congress 2012