Report on 20th Congress of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology (APSR) 2015 3rd – 6th December 2015 Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre

MTS hosted the 20th Congress of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology 2015 which was held from 3rd to 6th December 2015 at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre. This meeting was attended by 1882 delegates comprising 348 local delegates and 1,534 overseas delegates from 45 countries. The largest numbers of overseas delegates were from Indonesia, India, China, Philippines and Japan. Prof. Dr. Roslina Abdul Manap, the Congress President, and members of the Local Organising Committee worked closely with members of the Central Congress Committee chaired by Prof. Dr. Kwun Fong and Prof. Dr. Michiaki Mishima, President of the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology (APSR) to organise APSR 2015.

On the first day of the congress, there were 5 concurrent workshops attended by 324 participants. A China-Malaysia Friendship Symposium was held to commemorate the 40th year of diplomatic ties between China and Malaysia. The Opening Ceremony was officiated by the Minister of Health, Datuk Dr. S. Subramaniam. During the main conference there were 3 plenary lectures and 27 concurrent symposia covering wide spectrum of respiratory diseases. In addition, there were 10 symposia sponsored by the pharmaceutical industry. Numerous business meetings of the APSR were conducted in the sidelines.

Oral paper presentations and poster presentations ran concurrently with the scientific programme. Altogether 578 abstracts were accepted. There are 280 poster presentations and 132 oral presentations. A total of 84 poster stands and 10 ePoster stations were utilised for the poster display.

The pharmaceutical and equipment companies were invited to become platinum, gold and silver sponsors. There were 5 platinum, 2 gold and 4 silver sponsors and 25 individual exhibitors. There were 63 exhibition booths with 6 complimentary booths.

The Gala Dinner was held on Saturday evening. It was attended by delegates, Organising Committee members and speakers. Prizes were awarded to the winners of APSR 2015 travel awards. Young Investigator awards by ATS, ERS, TSANZ and APSR were also presented.